Pumpkin Chai Spice Oatmeal

Good morning Steepers!

So I decided to try to make pumpkin spice oatmeal (in a jar) and document it. I’ve seen a few pumpkin spice oatmeal recipes floating around Pinterest and it looked easy enough. Plus I’m already an oatmeal-in-a-jar fiend so a little flavour variation wouldn’t hurt.

image

What you need:
1. oatmeal 1/2 cup per portion. I used large flake but you can get quick oats or steel cut…what ever suits your fancy
2. Nuts and seeds, a spoonful each of whatever you have on hand. I used hemp and chia but you could add flax, sunflower, almonds etc. This would be really good with pecans!
3. Sweetener to taste. I used local honey, but agave, Brown sugar, molasses or mashed banana would work too.
4. Pumpkin puree! 2 spoonfuls per portion. Bonus points if you make your ownimage

5. Pumpkin spice: pre made blend, or make your own with cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice.

image
6. Pumpkin chai tea. 1 pot scoop in 2 cups hot water. I used DAVIDsTEA pumpkin chai, this time but next time I’ll try Steeped Tea’s chocolate pumpkin chai. Both black teas. Try different teas like these:

7. Optional matcha, protein powder, milk or cream.image

To make:
Boil your water and make a concentrated batch of tea. You can do this one of two ways… Mix all the dry ingredients, and wet ingredients separate and then combine. Or how I did it and just throw a bit of everything into the jars Or bowls as you make it. The latter with get a more even mixture of flavours and avoid the dry lumps and bubbles.

imageThat’s basically it. Pretty simple. I didn’t make quite enough tea so I will add a little bit of cream to the jars before I eat them as they are going in the fridge for my next few breakfasts. For the leftover pumpkin puree if you have any just store in a container in the fridge or freezer depending on how fast you’ll use it.

Bonus recipe:
Pumpkin cheesecake dip
This yummy dip mix from Steeped Tea goes great with Apple’s to dip. Calls for whipped cream and cream cheese but I mixed it with 4 spoons of pumpkin puree and plain yogurt. It makes a great addition to the oatmeal or with granola.

image

If you give this a try please leave a comment or tag me in your pictures using #teawithkayla. Thank for reading and I hope you enjoyed! Stay tuned for more pumpkin tea updates! follow me to subscribe and get email notifications when new posts are available!

Instagram: @teawithkayla    Email: teawithkayla@gmail.com

Shop: http://mysteepedtea.com/teawithkayla/shop

xoxo Kayla

Leave a comment